Posted by: begraceful | August 4, 2013

Not a mother for a day

I’m laying on an air mattress in a cottage of sleeping ladies. For my friend’s bachelorette party, we rented a cottage in New Braunfels, went to Schlitterbahn yesterday and plan to float the river today. I am always the early riser but i think the baby’s schedule has made me an even earlier riser. It would have been awesome if I could have sleepy in. I have the opportunity here to do so and here I am, awake at 7am…
This is the first time I’ve left the baby for more than a few hours. I was of course anxious. Exclusively breastfeeding makes it tricky but thankfully our little man has been able to take a bottle and switch right back. This also makes me the life of the party needing to pump every 4 hours our so to keep my supply intact. Since i tend to oversupply when i pump, I’m not too worried. But it has been quite sad to dump all that milk down the drain. I could have tried to store it but at a waterpark, really? Looking at his chunky legs, chubby cheeks and double chin makes me proud because, my body did that!! I have been able to provide sustenance for him! I’m so thankful that i was able to breastfeed. I know I’m lucky. There are some things I’m looking forward to once he weans. i should be able to get my psoriasis in check since i can’t take anything right now that would help. I won’t feel like someone else owns my body as much. And he’ll be eating real food which is just exciting!
I hear others up now, I’m going to go visit!

Leave a Reply

Categories

