Posted by: begraceful | October 17, 2011

Dinners we’ve made…

So I suck at taking photos of process for sure but I also tend to forget the ‘after’ photos too… Sigh

Eric and I like to try new recipes and at one point we were trying a new one each week. We haven’t been doing as well lately but I do create dinners from whatever we have in the kitchen.

Lately we’ve made:

Lemon Basil Shrimp and Pasta on a bed of Spinach – This was really good. I was surprised that I liked the spinach with it because I’m not a fan of cooked spinach. I guess it was ok since it was just a bed of fresh spinach and only slightly wilty since the pasta was warm… Thank you cooking light!

Pasta with Cream Cheese sauce and Broccoli – Apologies for the blurry photo. We have a point and shoot, not so great for food photos… anywho, this was delicious as well. The sauce was quite easy. It involved a milk base and stirring in flavored cheese. The recipe called for a fancy french herbed cheese but I used a chive cream cheese. It was still good so I’m fine with the substitution!!

Whole Wheat Macaroni and Cheese Bake with Broccoli – I think I use broccoli so much because it’s so simple to add to dishes and get some veggies in! I also have been known to add frozen peas to almost anything… I cooked the pasta and broccoli together and not quite all the way. Then I started a roux and probably should have made more… Oh well. To the roux I added milk and then 3 different cheeses – blue, white cheddar and jack. YUM. I think the blue cheese was a good addition to normal mac & cheese. I also added some panko to the top but I don’t think it was necessary.

Apparently I like pasta….

Another item I made recently I actually got from a friend of mine… Go see her post for actual recipe and other fun stuff.

Sopapilla Cheesecake – I thought this was great for a slight sweet tooth. I also tried to make it slightly less unhealthy by using 1/3 less fat cream cheese and Splenda instead of sugar on the inside. I only wanted a small amount so I used a mini tube of crescent rolls that only makes 4. It worked out!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

