Posted by: begraceful | April 13, 2011

Shoes and sewing

So I dropped nearly $300 for 2 pairs of shoes this weekend… but it is worth it! I went to Instep shoe store per my ‘prescription’ on Saturday. Did you know you can receive a rx for shoes? I didn’t either. The rx just let’s you buy them without paying sales tax but with them at $114 and $170 each, I’ll take what I can get.

Bad angle.... Oh well.

The first pair are the sandals by Dansko. They’re awesome and actually make me taller since they’re technically platforms. They’re really comfy and I’m glad I chose them.

Naot Rango (picture from zappos.com)

Next up, the closed toed shoes by Naot. Now, I don’t know how to pronounce that but they’re an Israeli shoe company. I like their shoes! Most of the brands I was supposed to look at for arch and support in general all had clogs as their closed toe/work shoes. Ug! And boy are they unattractive. I was happy to find these even with the price tag. I think I would categorize them as mary jane sling backs… Yay!!

So far my feet have felt better in them overall but I’ve been in a lot of pain over the past week because my doctor basically outlawed my favorite flats and other unsupportive shoes which don’t push on my arch. Grrrrr. Hopefully in the long run it’ll feel better because of all this. My pt appt is tomorrow so wish me luck!

In other news I cut into fabric on Sunday for Alora and Brian’s non-babyish diaper bag! Its a light gray suiting fabric with a small orange print cotton for the inside. Orange is Brian’s favorite color and the gray was requested. I researched elastic gathered pockets on Monday and completed the first one that night. It looks great and I feel so empowered. 🙂 I’ll post pictures soon hopefully. The sewing room/office is a mess…. but I’m so excited!

Leave a Reply

Categories

