Posted by: begraceful | December 6, 2010

FOOD.

Mr. G has decided to lose weight over the next 6 months or so. I’m very proud of him for committing himself to bettering his health! I always try to get him to eat vegetarian dishes or just more veggies but he’s definitely a carnivore. Thankfully, he’s very open to new foods and will try anything I cook. : ) He’s also become obsessed with hummus lately. After learning that it is pretty good for you (beans and fiber and all) he’s been looking up many many recipes. So far he’s made normal hummus and roasted red pepper a few times each. At the store this weekend he picked up jalapenos for another recipe. I’m hoping to convince him to wait to add the jalapenos until I’ve taken a portion out of the food processor for myself. : )

 

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus - with lots of roasted red peppers!

 

Today I didn’t mean to cook a bunch of things. I was starting to look through my Cooking Light magazine cookbooks to find some healthy things to make. (One of the things we like to do is find a recipe that sounds good from one of our numerous cookbooks and try a new recipe each week. Maybe we can make them healthy with Cooking Light! We tried the meatloaf recipe from these books and it was surprisingly good. Spinach is added for a health and moisture boost and turkey is substituted for some of the beef in a regular meatloaf. We were both impressed by the taste and moisture.) Back to today.. right.

So the first recipe I look at is Spinach and Kale Turnovers. I don’t know that I’m a fan of kale and I actually dislike cooked spinach unless it’s mixed into something well.. However, the recipe calls for premade dinner roll dough like Pillsbury. Well… I have some frozen dinner rolls and I could put in different ingredients! So I whipped up a mirepoix (Celery, onions & carrots) in some olive oil in a saute pan with pepper, salt and garlic.

 

I just learned the name for this French standard.

I chopped up some potatoes and parsley…  I flattened my now unfrozen dinner rolls…. Then I spread some roasted red pepper hummus on the centers and added Asiago cheese!

 

 

Turnover waiting for the mirepoix!

 

Unfortunately the unfreezing of the rolls in-the-oven technique started cooking them a bit. so when I flattened them, one side was starting to get slightly crusty and didn’t want to stick together when I made my little pockets! How rude! I brushed the tops with butter and added some more Asiago. I haven’t tried them yet but it smells awesome in here and they look delicious.

 

The Asiago smells SO good.

Mr. G stole some of the mirepoix and gave it his approval. He also approved of the smells coming from the kitchen. Maybe we’ll have cute little pockets for dinner!

Turnovers!

We had also had a conversation about deviled eggs a few days ago. I’ve never made them, we both like them so I figured we could give them a try! I typically suck at hard boiling eggs. I either cook them too long or too hot apparently. Sometimes they crack and you get that almost egg drop soup look in the pot of water.. : / And sometimes they stick to the shell and won’t unpeel! I also hate that greenish ring around the yolk and have never mastered the art of not creating it… SO I googled for a better technique. Funny enough, I found a seemingly easy technique on how to do it. Makes sense that the American Egg Board would have good instructions. : )

These will be my afternoon fun. I’ll try to remember to let you know how it turns out. Hopefully more timely than the golabki post… oops.

Sidenote: I have to tell you… WordPress’ spell check just wanted to change Mirepoix to Firefox. How is that similar?!

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

