Posted by: begraceful | November 17, 2010

Kitchen Day

Yesterday was Kitchen Day… I should just make it kitchen week with the golabki planned for later…

Anyway,  I made Butternut Squash Soup – not bad, needs some spice that I can’t figure out… It was a mismash of recipes I found online.

Butternut Squash!

I roasted the squash and onions but forgot the carrots.  : ( I got to use my new and free (rep gift woot!) immersion blender!

Roasting veggies

I forgot to take a picture of the final product of course… sigh. It was lovely in our soup bowls with some chives on top served with ‘crostini’ aka a hamburger bun brushed with olive oil, dashed of salt and topped with mixed shredded Italian cheeses. Fun lunch. Here is the rest ready for the refrigerator!

Soup!

Apple Butter was interesting…

Apple remnants

I found one recipe that calls for cooking it for 8 HOURS! oy. This  batch was cooking for probably… 4 or 5 hours. It’s handy since it just needs a stir every now and then..  We’ll see how it ends up though. I’ve never actually had apple butter but Mr. G grew up eating it with cottage cheese. I’ve always thought those who eat peaches with cottage cheese are weird… now apple butter? I’ll try it but hmm… : )

Last night I tackled banana bread. We had a few bananas go past their prime so banana bread it is! I need to figure out how to keep it moist though. I’ve heard applesauce helps and you would think the fact that the bananas are all mushy and gooey would help…

So that’s my cooking day. : ) The only bad part: Cleaning up. At least a piece of banana bread will make me feel better afterwords. : )

Leave a Reply

Categories

